Supporting the Clean Energy Collaborative

Renewing East Kentucky will require collaboration among a number of stakeholders: co-op members, utilities and organizations like KFTC.

When East Kentucky Power Cooperative agreed in 2010 to abandon plans for a new coal-burning power plant, it also agreed to enter a collaborative working group to explore clean energy options. The Clean Energy Collaborative includes EKPC, its 16 distribution co-ops, KFTC and other public interest groups.

Goals of the Collaborative

The charter that established the Collaborative stated its goals, which are to "evaluate and recommend actions" to EKPC management to expand renewable energy and energy efficiency in their system. A second goal of the Collaborative is to promote collaboration among all the members of the Collaborative in putting these recommendations into action.

How You Can Help

You can help make the Collaborative a success by either attending a Collaborative meeting (see meeting schedule below), learning more about the Collaborative through our page Resources page, or setting up a meeting with the Collaborative respresentative from your rural electric co-op. Also, be sure to keep an eye on our to check-out the action page for an announcement of the Collaborative's upcoming forum on Renewable Energy in fall 2012.

Timeline & Meetings

The Collaborative began in the spring of 2011 and will last for two years, with quarterly meetings open to the public. The remaining meetings will be held on:

  •  August 16, 2012        
  • October 16, 2012 [tentative]        
  • January 15, 2013 [tentative]

To learn about the location of the upcoming meetings as they're scheduled, contact Sara Pennington at (606) 276-9933.

Who are the Collaborative members and representatives?

The Collaborative is made up of all the parties to the settlement agreement that stopped the coal-burning power plant, all 16 distribution cooperatives, and additional public interest groups. Below is a list of all the Collaborative members and their representatives.

  • Big Sandy RECC -- Jeff Prater
  • Blue Grass Energy -- Mike Williams
  • Clark Energy -- Scott Sidwell
  • Cumberland Valley Electric -- Jay Hampton
  • East Kentucky Power Cooperative -- Scott Drake
  • Farmers RECC -- Chuck Bishop
  • Fleming-Mason Energy -- Joni Hazelrigg
  • Gallatin Steel --
  • Grayson RECC -- Kim Bush
  • Inter-County Energy -- David Phelps
  • Jackson Energy -- Sharon Carson
  • Kentucky Attorney General's Office -- Dennis Howard
  • Kentucky Environmental Foundation -- Elizabeth Crowe
  • Kentuckians For The Commonwealth -- Steve Wilkins
  • Kentucky Solar Partnership -- Andy McDonald
  • Licking Valley RECC -- Maudie Nickell
  • Mountain Association for Community Economic Development (MACED) -- Kristin Tracz
  • Nolin RECC -- Rick Ryan
  • Owen Electric -- Mark Stallons
  • Salt River Electric -- Larry Hicks
  • Shelby Energy --
  • Sierra Club -- Wallace McMullen
  • South Kentucky RECC -- Alan Coffey
  • Taylor County RECC -- Ann Beard